Wednesday, 3 November 2010

Palais Royal Ensemble on ARTE

The Palais Royal Ensemble directed by Jean-Philippe Sarcos perform Italian Baroque Masters
Concert given at the Saint Louis Chapel, Paris
19th October 2010
Production: Oléo Films
Running Time: 01:32:02

D. Scarlatti (1685-1757), Iste Confessor - processional hymn for soprano solo, choir and continuo
M. Uccellini (1603 – 1680), Bergamasca - chaconne for 2 violins and continuo
D. Scarlatti (1685-1757), Stabat Mater à 10 - for choir and continuo
B. Rubino (1643-1668), Lauda Jerusalem - chaconne for 2 violins, soloists, choir and continuo
A Corelli (1653-1713), Sonata opus 3 n°3 in B flat Major for 2 violins and continuo
A. Lotti (1665-1740), Credo for 2 violins, soloists, choir and continuo
A. Vivaldi (1678-1741), Lætatus sum RV 607 - ostinato pour violons, choeur et continuo

The Palais royal is an ensemble with a new style, dedicated to interpreting Baroque, Classical and Romantic music. The ensemble brings together an orchestra which uses authentic instruments and a choir of young singers specialised in interpreting early music. For this concert, 30 singers and 6 instrumentalists interpret a set of stunning works of Italian music of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the Stabat Mater for 10 voices by Scarlatti, Lotti's Credo, Chaconnes and an Ostinato by Uccellini, Rubino and Vivaldi.

Ensemble Palais Royal official website
Chapelle Saint-Louis at the Ecole Militaire page on French Ministry of Culture website

No comments:

Post a Comment